Saturday, July 7, 2007

boy with a coin single

ah, the joys of qtfairuse. why, with this simple program, it is so easy for a mostly scrupulous (but firmly anti-drm) blogger like yours truly to purchase songs from the itunes store (bought with a gift certificate, no less), free them from their constraining drm bonds, and give them for all to share.

iron & wine has gotten a good amount of press lately, considering the fact that his third full-length, the shepherd's dog, isn't due until september 25 on sub pop. the album's first single, "boy with a coin," has been making the rounds, but i haven't seen its accompanying b-side, "carried home," so i'm offering both of those up for download (along with the cover art, reproduced above. as sam beam has matured, his songsmithing has changed, from the dusky verses of "lion's mane" to the cleaner, fleshed-out sounds on woman king, his 2005 ep. "boy with a coin" picks up almost directly from where woman king left off, with beam's lilting melodies buttressed by muffled rhythmic handclaps, while "carried home" is an epic, more like his endless numbered days material. in any event, this album will definitely be a treat, especially after this long dry spell.

"carried home"
"boy with a coin"

the shepherd's dog tracklist

            1. Pagan Angel and a Borrowed Car
            2. White Tooth Man
            3. Lovesong of the Buzzard
            4. Carousel
            5. House by the Sea
            6. Innocent Bones
            7. Wolves (Song of the Shepherd's Dog)
            8. Resurrection Fern
            9. Boy with a Coin
            10. The Devil Never Sleeps
            11. Peace Beneath the City
            12. Flightless Bird, American Mouth
buy all your favorite iron & wine merchandise here.

for some bonus live previews, the rawking refuses to stop still has nine tracks recorded at the pabst theater in february.

No comments: